Progress

What is the opposite of racist?  Whatever it is, that is how I want my kids to be defined. 

A few days ago Jackson came up to Wendy and asked, “Who is the Star Wars guy with the purple light saber?”

Wendy, not an expert on Jedi light sabers asked, “Can you show me a picture of him?”

Jackson grabbed his star wars coloring book and flipped it open to a picture of Mace Windu.  “This one Mommy.  The one with the purple light saber?”  If you don’t know, Mace Windu (played by Samuel Jackson) is the only black Jedi.   

My son defined the character, not by the color of his skin, but rather by the color of his light saber.  When I was Jackson’s age I would have said, “You know Mommy, the black one.”

Progress!

Progress

2 thoughts on “Progress

  1. Sarah Eddins says:

    That is awesome! I love that racism is dying although definitely slower than I wish. Progress is good though! Way to go Jackson!

Leave a Reply

