A Hard Week

It has been a rough week for the Elkins clan. 

On Friday Wendy and I were taking Jackson to school.  As we pulled out of the drive way we realized we had forgotten something in the house.  I jumped out to go get it and Wendy pulled out into the street.  As I walked back to the car I remember looking at the ice at the end of my neighbor’s driveway and thinking, “Don’t slip Elkins.”  I gently stepped on the black patch and my foot went right through it into a foot deep hole.  The rest of the day was consumed with a trip to the doctor’s office.  I broke my leg and will be on crutches for four weeks.

If that weren’t enough, on Wednesday I woke up with a 102 degree fever.  That’s right folks.  Strep throat.  Julianna had it Saturday through Tuesday and she evidently passed it to me.  Wendy will testify, I don’t handle sickness well.  Wednesday was spent in a weird semi-lucid state coming in and out of fevers.  On Thursday I was coherent and up and around.  Today I’m just really tired. 

Does this happen to you?  I get this fever cycle going when I’m sick.  First I get chills.  Then my fever spikes (this session it has been spiking around 101 or 102).  My whole body starts to ache so I suck it up and take some medicine.  Thirty minutes later I’m sitting in a pool…yes a pool…i’m not doing this justice…think about taking a shower with your clothes on…of my own sweat.  It’s disgusting.  DIS-CUS-TING!

Alright, pity party is over…all that to say, we will return to normal blogging schedule next week.  For now we are out of commission.

Quick Update:

The Downside of Being Sick:  When I’m sick and broken I find the worst in me tends to dominate.  My jokes are a little to harsh, my sarcasim a little to edgy, and my responses not well thought out.  Especially when it comes to answering email.  Just snapped at another person for no reason.

The Upside of Being Sick:  Wendy said I look like I’ve lost ten pounds.  Well…that’s something.

A Hard Week

Leave a comment