The Inspirational Francis Chan

There was a phenomenal video of Francis Chan posted on the Catalyst Leadership Blog today.  Please go watch it.  You can find it by clicking here

For those of you that don’t know him, Francis Chan is an incredibly “successful” pastor in Semi-Valley California.  He has built a monstrous church, has written some amazing books, has put together a seminary, and is a very popular speaker; but this status does not define Chan.  There is another side to Francis Chan too.  The side that at the Verge Conference Alan Hirsch called Chan’s prophetic voice. 

A few years ago when Wendy and I were questioning how we were living as the church, Francis Chan was a major inspiration to us.  Some of the “missional” stuff I was thinking (I didn’t know to call it that then) felt crazy.  Questioning things no other leaders around us were questioning made us feel like a lunatics. 

One day clearly sticks out in my mind.  I was driving back to my office after a rough meeting about church structure.  I had shared what was on my heart with some of my peers and it didn’t go well.  In the safety of my car I began bawling my eyes out.  I didn’t know what to do with all these questions and thoughts clanging in my skull.  I felt incredibly alone.

To take my mind off of everything I turned on a Catalyst podcast that was in my head.  It was Francis Chan talking about church.  In that interview he affirmed so much I was struggling with.  (If you want to listen to it you can find it here.  It is a few years old but still great.)  I bypassed the office and went straight home to play the Chan’s interview for Wendy.

What I love about Chan is that he is not afraid to act on his beliefs regardless of what it costs him. Sure, Wendy and I left the professional ministry to go find a different way of being the church…but we didn’t have near as much to give up as Chan did. 

I’m excited to hear what the Lord does with him in the coming years.

The Inspirational Francis Chan

Leave a Reply

