That’s My Boy

Today I want to take a minute to brag on one of my kids.  Jackson is finishing first grade.  He has three days left.  We’ve been blown away by how he has blossomed as a student, a person, and a young Christ follower.  So I’m just going to share some random things from the year…

Everyday when Wendy and I drop Jackson off at school we ask him, “What are you going to do today?” and he response something like, “Work hard and love like Jesus.”  Every day that is except for last Thursday.  Last Thursday I asked him “What are you going to do today?” and he said, “I’m going to rock the house baby!” and then he jumped out of the car.

Here is super cute acrostic poem Jackson wrote earlier this year about his classmate Collin.

  • Collin
  • On top of
  • Lekadily hill
  • Like a man
  • I have
  • Never seen

No…there is no such place as Lekadily hill.

Yesterday was Jackson’s end of the year parent-teacher conference.  Wendy represented our family.  She came out of the meeting bawling.  Here is what his teacher wrote about him:

It is difficult to put into words how lovely it was having Jackson in class.  I’m not sure I have ever met a child that is as self aware, empathic, kind, caring, hardworking, and determined as Jackson is.  I learn something new from him everyday.  He is a leader without being bossy, and sensitive to how his actions affect others in class.  I am so happy to know him.  When I think of Jackson’s future I can’t help but smile.  I know he is destined for greatness.  His hunger for learning and ability to work together with others to construct his knowledge is mind boggling.  I am so proud of him, and it was a pleasure to have him in my class!

I’m proud of my son.  He had a great year.  I can’t wait to see the man he becomes.

That’s My Boy

One thought on “That’s My Boy

Leave a Reply

