Loving Like Jesus Always Costs Something

Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. – Ephesians 5:1-2

Last night at the Thingy, after telling a heart wrenching story about loving a co-worker, my dear friend fought back tears and said, “If I had known how hard it was going to be love others like Jesus loves them I’m not sure I would have started doing it.”

Jesus was serious when He told us to count the cost of following Him.  Christ’s love is sacrificial.  It’s primary symbol is the cross.  To love as He loves always costs us something.

Our security and comfort will disappear.  Our time, energy, and resources will all go.  Our self-confidence and pride will vanish.  Or like my friend, our hearts will be ripped with compassion for the pain of others.

As Dietrich Bonhoffer explained,  the cost of discipleship is our life.

But the sacrifice is worth it.  His love is beyond words.  With it comes and abundant life full of beauty, surprise, joy, and wonder.

May we be known as imitators of the loving living God.  Let it be said of us that we are people who love with reckless abandon, that our love for others burns hot but never burns out, and that to all that come near us are overwhelmed by the sweet fragrance of Jesus.

Loving Like Jesus Always Costs Something

2 thoughts on “Loving Like Jesus Always Costs Something

  1. The further in I get, the further away I realize I was. You’d be hard-pressed to find anyone more active or more dedicated to the church than I was, but dedication to Jesus is often a completely different thing — at least it was for me. I’m constantly amazed at just how different from him I still am, and like your friend, I’m frequently confronted with things that make part of me want to just turn back around. My ultimate response, though, is always the words of Peter from John 6:68: Who else would we go to? This is hard, but what, really, is the alternative?

    It’s unquestionably difficult, and I see now more than ever why it’s essential to have people walking beside you. I couldn’t do this on my own.

Leave a Reply

